Dishonest Political Cheap Shots Always Come Back Around

Some names are harder to pronounce than others. Some names have silent letters that don’t make sense, and some names have pronunciations that look different than how the names are spelled. There’s nothing wrong with any of this. It’s part of human life. Parents would be wise to consider whether other people can pronounce their child’s name, but to each their own.

Progressives makes a big deal about Kamala Harris’s name, but it can be hard to pronounce. The reason is because the correct way to pronounce her name doesn’t neatly line up with how it’s spelled. It looks like Ka-ma-la when the correct pronunciation is comma-luh. Case in point is that Supreme Court Justice Sonja Sotomayor, someone clearly in the more liberal wing of the Supreme Court, mispronounced Harris’s name during the inauguration.

Instead of acknowledging that her name can sometimes be difficult to pronounce, progressives keep hammering the racism narrative. If a liberal Supreme Court Justice has trouble pronouncing her name, progressives have no logical basis to jump to racism explanations. Some names are just difficult to pronounce, regardless of the race of the person.

My name is Josh, but some people have trouble pronouncing Js, so I’ve been called osh or almost yosh by some in my life. Still others have called me Josh-wuh. Wuh is not the correct way to pronounce Joshua, but many people pronounce my name that way. The ending is more like ew-uh, and it all needs to sort of flow together.

Here’s a nice video about how to pronounce Joshua.

I don’t lose sleep or get upset if someone doesn’t pronounce my name exactly right because Joshua for some people can be a little bit difficult to pronounce, especially for non-native English speakers. I’m not bothered in the least by this; it’s just a fact of life. Some of the mispronunciations of my name are actually endearing to me.

If this sort of inane controversy about Harris’s name is any sign of what a Biden administration is going to be like, we are in for one of the most petty administrations in American history.

Published by sooner8728

I enjoy thinking about the world. Philosophy is fascinating to me. I hope to have lively discussions and debates with people from all political persuasions and religions. The world needs free, vigorous debate.

4 thoughts on “Dishonest Political Cheap Shots Always Come Back Around

  1. My name is Jim Worcester. There are many Jim’s. But “Worcester” is anotherr deal entirely. I used to say it was an Anglo-Saxon name; but that is not true either; it is a Roman word for a permanent bivuoc nesar the Celtic village of Wor in Britian.. When the Anglo-Saxons came in the name changed pronounciation to “W’st’r”. Dropping the “orce” and last “e” enables a person go pronouce Wrocestershire Sauce correctly as “w’st’r-shear”. The “shire” is where we get the word Sherrif.

    I don’t have a problem, actually have a little fun, with my name being mispronounced as long as the don’t try to tell me I don’t know how to pronounce the name. I use “JW” whenever I’m to be paged.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. If she had not been introduced as “comma-luh” then Ka-ma-la would have been the Latin or Hispanic way to pronounce the name. Possibly Justice Sonja Sotomayor forgot how to pronounce the name and reverted to what she saw in her mind. If she hadn’t forgotten and had been introduced it would be racism. Being white myself, and conservative, I am nonetheless hesitant to dismiss “racism” out-of-hand after seeing what I’ve seen in my 75 years of living in America.

    Like

    1. I think there are some people who do mispronounce her name was a soft form of racism. Don’t get me wrong.

      There’s a major political angle here though. Just seems really convenient to me personally.

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started